Inaugural National Aquatic Industry Safety Award Nominations Now Open

Royal Life Saving with support from the National Aquatic Industry Safety Committee have launched the inaugural National Aquatic Industry Safety Awards. 

The awards are designed to acknowledge the achievements of Aquatic Facilities and their staff and provide an opportunity to formally recognize their commitment to improving safety outcomes.

Establishing the awards program also provides a powerful motivation tool to encourage ongoing professional development for corporate organizations, community engagement and individual action in reducing drowning deaths and injuries in aquatic facilities.

In addition, the awards establish new standards of excellence in aquatic facilities and act as a catalyst to increase safety activities in aquatic facilities around Australia.

Royal Life Saving is committed to ensuring continuous improvement and quality across aquatic industry services to ensure a high standard of water safety in Australia. 

The awards program raises awareness about aquatic safety generally and promotes strategies that will assist address health and safety issues in all Aquatic Facilities. They also provide a vehicle to further promote aquatic safety activities on a national scale and unite these programs under a single banner.

Royal Life Saving and the National Aquatic Industry Safety Committee are encouraging aquatic facilities to nominate their facility and their staff for the great work they do in keeping our communities safe.

The awards recognise 6 separate categories for excellence in aquatic safety:

  • Excellence in aquatic safety - By an individual
  • Excellence in aquatic safety - By an aquatic facility
  • Best solution to an identified aquatic health and safety issue
  • Excellence in aquatic safety - Induction and professional development
  • Excellence in aquatic safety - Public messaging and education
  • Excellence in aquatic safety - Innovative and safe design

With sub categories for small and large facilities in two award categories.

Nominations are open from 7th April – 2nd June, with finalists announced in July.

Winners of each categories will be presented with a highly recognisable award for themselves and their Aquatic Facility which will be presented at a significant industry event within their area.

Winners will also be filmed as part of their own unique feature video, showcasing the work of their facility and staff which will be broadcast across the country. Aquatic Facility Managers will also receive copies of all the media to promote via their networks.

CLICK HERE to find out more and nominate.

© Copyright 2011 Swim and Survive